Seasonal Life

Homemaking is different from having a 9-5 job.  When I had a 9-5 job, I never felt guilty when I was vegging on the couch.  I didn’t think I was good at separating work and home, because I brought all my work worries home.  But the truth is, I was very good at separating work from home.  Work was in a separate place.  I wasn’t doing work at home.  I wasn’t slacking off at work.

When I quit my job, my work became my home.   I don’t have a physical boundary anymore.  I started my homemaking journey in the summer.  The kids were home, the days were long.  I had a lot of energy and few interruptions.  I was up before 8.  I was cooking and cleaning and taking the kids places until 8 at night.  Every day was a 12 hour day.

Then came fall.  I officially quit my job.  The kids were back to school, and I was excited about all the house projects I could do.  I was decluttering, and painting rooms and creating cleaning schedules, and volunteering for scouts.  This kept me in those 12 hour days right through the holidays.

Then came winter.  The days were darker.  Shorter.  It was cold outside.  All I wanted to do was sit by the fire and knit.  I felt immense guilt.  I mean, my husband was at work all day. He was working, and here I was sitting on the couch.  Furthermore, it’s not like my house was neat or clean.  I couldn’t keep up with the laundry, or the dishes, or the cooking.  I put in maybe a 3 hour day.

Of course, I figure spring will rejuvenate me.  I’ll do spring cleaning.  I’ll have energy from all the sunlight.  It’ll be warm outside, I’ll do yard work.  I’ll take walks and ride my bike.

But the energy comes later than I’d like.  Spring starts in March doesn’t it?  Yet, for me the energy doesn’t come until April or May.

So what’s the point of all this?  Homemaking is not a 9-5 job.  You don’t get 4 weeks vacation.  You don’t get weekends off.  It’s not a 40 hour work week.  It’s seasonal.  There’s a rhythm.  It’s ok that I’m sitting on the couch for 2 hours a day for the entire month of February, because I will be cooking, and cleaning, and carting kids around for 12 hours a day in July.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s